Home > Uncategorized > Things that make me go hmmmm…..

Things that make me go hmmmm…..

Had a weird experience today….. Stopped at a gas station to fill up, was getting ready to pull away, and a kinda scruffy-looking guy came up and asked for a ride to the comic book store so he and a friend could sell some comic books. ‘Course, first thing I think – some homeless guy trying to hussle me for money. But, something told me to take a chance, So I said OK. He called his friend over, and we headed down the road. We got to talking a bit; introduced ourselves. I found out they were homeless, staying at a local shelter and had come across some old comic books in a basement somewhere, “and we didn’t even steal them”. They had walked about 10 miles trying to find this comic book store so they could sell them. They both kept thanking me over and over, I thought it was weird, it was not a big deal to give a couple guys a ride up the road, in the direction I was going. It wasn’t putting me out any, didn’t cost me anything. So what if they were homeless; what if I were in their shoes? Then one of them said something that really made me stop and think. He said
“You know, when I was walking down to that gas station to ask for a ride, I saw you, and you looked like a big scary biker dude; so I figured you were safe.”

Wha?….. So “big scary biker dudes” are safe? Kinda backwards, isn’t it? Aren’t big scary biker dudes the ones that your parents tell you to stay away from? Now don’t get me wrong – I’m not trying to look scary, or anything. Yes, I have longish hair, I’m a little bigger than average, but I don’t go around growling at people (much).

Really is making me think though – the people that really need our help, the homeless folks, the people without enough to eat, the down and out – they trust someone that looks “scary” over your average Joe? What does this say about society, both in the Church, and outside of the Church? Does this mean that the clean-cut looking Christian is viewed by someone in need as untrustworthy? Why??? This really perplexes/worries me. Maybe this is just an isolated incident, I dunno. I have some more pondering to do on this subject; but y’all please put your 2cents in on this subject. I’m really curious about how everyone feels/thinks about this.
Until next time…..
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Kristen
    February 4, 2009 at 6:33 am

    Please. We all know that you grumble everywhere you go! 😉I will have to think about this. Way to go- you are making me think! Geesh.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

