Home > Uncategorized > “Generations Invigorating Volunteerism and Education” (GIVE) – AKA Obama’s Youth Brigade

“Generations Invigorating Volunteerism and Education” (GIVE) – AKA Obama’s Youth Brigade

A friend of mine forwarded me this news report: http://www.thevoicemagazine.com/politics/512-obama-youth-brigade-church-attendance-forbidden.html
Here’s a link to the actual Bill itself: http://www.govtrack.us/congress/bill.xpd?bill=h111-1388
I’m not sure if the news report is completely accurate in the way that they are reading the bill, but it is rather confusing to read.
If you read some of the comments below the news article, there’s one that really jumps out at me:
“I can’t believe this. For me personally, I’m impacted by this new bill because not only am I in school finishing my education in which I take out loans, but I also am a teacher at a Christian school. According to this I have to either quit my job to finish school or quit school to keep my job! Not exactly the change I was looking for………….. “
Another comment that puts my mind at ease about what the news story reported:
“The first read “(a) Prohibited Activities– A participant in an approved national service position under this subtitle may not engage in the following activities:”
The second reads “(a) Prohibited Activities– An approved national service position under this subtitle may not be used for the following activities:”
So the second version makes clear that it’s not that a person engaging in national service can’t participate in these activities at all – rather, that these activities can not count as their national service position. Summary – We can still preach and worship. But preaching and worshiping doesn’t count as our national service.”
Wow…. I really think we need to work to try and get this bill stopped. The sad thing is, it appears our senators Burr and Hagan voted to pass this thing.
Not only am I against the bill because of the restrictions it puts on our God-given rights to express our faith (AKA “Freedom of Religion” – protected by the first amendment of the consitution), it also is another form of compulsory service (IE The “Draft” – see http://www.trinityfoundation.org/journal.php?id=13) that forces people into government service.
Now I’m all for volunteers – that’s how America won it’s independance from King George – but with an army of volunteers NOT conscripts. This seems to be an attempt by the goverment to legislate us into getting up off our lazy butts and serving our neighbor, and our country. Nice theory, but it won’t work. Conscripts are not willing volunteers, and you won’t get the same results. You can’t legislate people into wanting to serve. That kind of change comes from the inside, NOT the outside. Yet another example of BAD LAW.
Let your senator/congressman know how you feel! (If you need help finding out who they are, or how to contact them – see http://www.govtrack.us/congress/findyourreps.xpd)

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

